Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

AIChE – National Student Design Competition – Safety

AIChE National Student Design Competition (Team):
Safety and Health Division Award for Safety
The Ted Ventrone, Ephraim Scheier & Walt Silowska Award


Beginning in 2002, the Safety and Health Division of AIChE began evaluating the design reports submitted for the AIChE National Student Design Competition.  Up to four awards (plaques plus $600 per team) are made based on the application of inherent safety in the technical designs.  The judges are practicing safety experts who evaluate the degree to which each team met the following criteria:

  1. Design the plant for easier and effective maintainability.
  2. Design the plant with less waste.
  3. Design the plan with special features that demonstrate inherent safety.
  4. Include design concepts regarding the entire life cycle.

As seen in the list below, no university has received more safety awards (team) from the AIChE Safety and Health Division than Oklahoma State University. We take great pride in the accomplishments of our students and their ability to implement concepts from a curriculum which emphasizes industry practice. 

AIChE National Student Design Competition (Team)
Safety and Health Division Award for Safety
2002 – 2013


School Number of Awards
Oklahoma State 6
Northeastern 4
Trine (previously Tri-State) 4
--------------------------------------------------- -------------------------
Iowa 3
New Hampshire 2
Washington (St. Louis) 2
--------------------------------------------------- -------------------------
Wayne State 2
Cincinnati 1
Lamar 1
--------------------------------------------------- -------------------------
Michigan State 1
Rose-Hulman 1
S. Dakota School of Mines & Technology 1


AICHE National Student Design Competition (Team)
Members of OSU Safety Award Winning Teams

(2002 is the first year awards were made)

Year Team Members
2002 Jamie Cohea, John Guisti, Matthew Stephens
2005 Justin Guinn, Tim Plowman, Rob Taylor
2008 Megan Benyshek, Kelsey Casad, Archie Meiseman
------ ----------------------------------------------------------------
2009 Jared Clark, Afshan Samli, Kristin Wallace
2011 Matthew Grant, Stuart Randel, Blake Winden
2012 Mark Cavett, Michael Sumner, Clifton Woods