Skip Navigation
Oklahoma State University

SPE Hosts Regional Paper Competition

The OSU Student Chapter of the Society of Petroleum Engineers successfully organized and hosted the 2015 Mid-Continent and Rocky Mountain Regional Student Paper Contest on Saturday, April 25, 2015.  The competition, which was held in the ATRC, had three divisions: an Undergraduate level, Master’s level, and a Ph.D. level.  There were sixteen papers presented during the day, with students representing The University of Tulsa, Montana Tech, University of Oklahoma, Oklahoma State University, Missouri University of Science and Technology, and Colorado School of Mines.

Moderator for the Undergraduate contest was OSU chemical engineering junior and SPE chapter president, Dakota Murdock.  Judges were Dr. Fahim Forouzanfar, of The University of Tulsa, Dr. Peter Clark, of Oklahoma State University, and Dr. Geir Hareland, also of Oklahoma State University.  Winner of the undergraduate division was Adeoluwa Oyewole, of the University of Tulsa.  There were four papers presented in this division.

Winner of the Master’s Division was Yuhan Wang, of the University of Tulsa.  There were also four participants at this level.  Judges were Dr. Jack Pashin and Dr. Clint Aichele, both of Oklahoma State University, and Dr. Fahim Forouzanfar, of the University of Tulsa.  Moderator for this part of the competition was Subarna Kole, a graduate student at OSU.

For the Ph.D. level, there were eight participants, from which 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place papers were selected.  Soham Sheth of the University of Tulsa was named 1st place, Mohammed Al Dushaishi of Missouri University of Science and Technology was 2nd place, while 3rd place went to Milad Saidian of the Colorado School of Mines.  Dr. Jindal Shah and Dr. Ashlee Ford Versypt, both of OSU, were moderators for this division.  Judges were Dr. Prem Bikkina of OSU, and Dr. Mohammed Shahvali and Dr. Hung Nguyen of The University of Tulsa.

The event concluded with a dinner and presentation of awards by Regional SPE Director, Michael Tunstall.  Winners of the competition will proceed to SPE’s Annual Technical Conference and Exhibition to be held at Houston in September, 2015.  In appreciation for organizing and hosting the regional competition, Andrea Holovach, Senior Regions, Sections and Chapters Manager, awarded funds to OSU’s student chapter of the Society of Professional Engineers to attend the ATCE meeting.